Father O’Hanlon Council #4678

State College, PA


The Knights of Columbus is a Catholic men's fraternal society that was formed to render financial aid to members and their families. Social and intellectual fellowship is promoted among members and their families through educational, charitable, religious, social welfare, war relief and public relief works.

The Knights of Columbus was founded by Father Michael J. McGivney, assistant pastor of St. Mary’s Church in New Haven CT. The Order was officially chartered on March 29, 1882. The K of C is still true to its founding principles of charity, unity and fraternity. The Order has helped families obtain economic security and stability through its life insurance, annuity and long-term care programs, and has contributed time and energy worldwide to service in communities.

The Knights of Columbus has grown from several members in one council to more than 12,000 councils and 1.6 million members throughout the United States, Canada, the Philippines, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Panama, the Bahamas, the Virgin Islands, Guatemala, Guam and Saipan.

The Father O’Hanlon Council (#4768) was chartered in State College in 1958. The Council is named in honor of Father Byron Aloysius O’Hanlon, a Benedictine priest, and the first pastor assigned to State College and the Penn State community in 1908.

Council 4678 serves both Catholic Churches in the State College Area, Our Lady of Victory and the Church of the Good Shepherd, and supports Our Lady of Victory Catholic School and St Joseph’s Catholic Academy High School.

The Father O’Hanlon Council supports many local charities and dedicates many hours to community service throughout the region. Visit the What we do page for more information.

A detailed history of the Council can be downloaded here

Father Michael McGivney

Father Byron O’Hanlon

Council Officers:

Grand Knight: Dennis Marince

Deputy Grand Knight: Joe Reese

Chaplain: Father Antony Sudherson

Chancellor: Matt Hunt

Financial Sec: Lionel Bassett

Treasurer: Marty Mazur

Secretary: Devren Yener

Warden: Bob Hershey

Advocate: Lyle Merryman

Lecturer: Tom Argondizza

Inside guard: Ron Lutz

Outside guard: Dave DeAntonio

Trustee 1 yr: Ken Hart

Trustee 2 yr: Ed Hughes

Trustee 3 yr: Mark Thorwart

Home    About Us    What we do    Meetings    Membership    Hall Rental    Links    Contact us